Home

If making a film

He is a middle aged man, with a fixed frown, with underlying anger.

He would be wearing formal clothes, a suit, not a police uniform.

There is very little furniture in the room, mainly a large desk and a window.

 

Collecting visual references

I used the “Wartime Scrapbook” compiled by Robert Opie and “Britain in Pictures 1940’s”  for a general feel of the era. I then collected specific images of offices from that era and then images of men in suits.

I made a moodboard for colours thinking of utilitarian.

Making the colours moodboard was actually very helpful as I used the actual materials in making the model.

 

The process

I struggled initially to work out the dimensions of the window in the wall. I didn’t use a sketchbook but started by playing with a piece of paper and then a bit of card with a hole in it , a light source and a little bottle to represent a man. I really liked the effect it created so I next made the cardboard walls and window.

I had to find a backdrop for the window and then make the figure.

I used a piece of polystyrene as the armature and then used coloured fimo. I made the jacket out of black paper. The desk is a brown paper-covered box and the telephone is fimo. I tried a variety of angles before I was happy.

first ideas

first ideas

early mock up

early mock up

 

getting there

getting there

too close

too close

I didn’t want the final image to look too obviously a model as I thought it was a distraction from the serious nature of the book. I tried out various filters in photoshop and liked the “cutout” filter as it produced a very simple, slightly abstract image.

the final position

the final position

the final image

the final image

Leave a Reply

