Home

I tried this exercise initially with some music I had on my ipod. When I came round to trying it with Beethoven I was struck by how complex the music was and also how it flowed. I decided to choose the word FLOW to illustrate.

My initial markmaking was in graphite, I did it without looking at the page and as a continuous line. I enlarged an area and experimented with inverting the image. I thought about cutting sections out from the page and replacing sections with blocks of colour. I liked the idea of making the image like this but I felt whilst it would produce a rich, complex image it didn’t invoke the feeling of flow. I also liked the idea of a lighter line on a dark background. I experimented with mark making using inks and marker pens.

I produced a series of coloured lines using brush and coloured inks and then manipulated them in Photoshop and Illustrator. In the end I decided to use a simple image with just one colour against the background.

selecting an area

selecting an area

inverted image

inverted image

mark making

mark making

coloured marks

coloured marks

Coloured marks

Coloured marks

coloured marks

coloured marks

Experimenting with colours

Experimenting with colours

Final image

Final image

One thought on “Exercise: Abstract illustration

  1. This reminds me of the abstract mobiles of Juliet Gutch and her husband. Some of their work is also based on music, and, being mobile, appears to be dancing as well – but not in time to the music.

Leave a Reply

