Home

In making a gallery it soon became clear that I could divide my favourites into Characters, Mark making and more complete images.

Characters I liked

Characters I liked

Characters I liked

I’ve discovered that I really like drawing or creating images of people or creatures that express something of the personality or emotion of that character. I used to attend a life class but over time became very frustrated with the class and mentally started to call it “the dead class”. I think my frustration was due the lack of feeling or personality exhibited by a half asleep model doing a long pose. This interest is something I want to take further.

Marks I liked

Marks I liked

Marks I liked

One of the things I really loved while doing textiles was exploring mark making. I am still obsessed with stains, bleeds and rubbings.

Images I liked

Images I liked

Images I liked

The last category was some of the more finished images I liked. All along I had thought of producing a tea towel for my tea making instructions. Once I had the thought of tea towels I quickly selected another couple of images that I thought I would try out.

Selecting printers

I found a couple of printing workshops that I would have liked to use. Unfortunately for various reasons I wasn’t able to use them this time but I saved their details. One of them turned out to be quite local and just looking at their websites gave me ideas about printing onto bags, cushion covers etc.

The audience I was aiming at in this instance was actually myself. I’m not sure if that was really what the exercise was getting at but I always look out for nice tea towels with good designs and it gave me ideas for presents that I could give within my extended family. Because I was ordering 3 different designs with just 1 of each, I had to use a company called “Bags of Love”. If I was doing this commercially I would use one of the workshops I found instead and would order a larger number.teatowel1

Tea towel

Tea towel

teatowel3

Leave a Reply

