Home

Process

The title of the brief was 7 days, so I thought about some sort of event which took place over a week. I had recently experimented with making fermented vegetables. The essence of this process is leaving vegetables in a brine solution and waiting for them to ferment over roughly a week.

I looked through my personal sketchbooks to find some inspiration. I like exploring images and themes which recur on successive pages, often cutting through the page to make the connection. This was my original idea for the seven days, to use a recurring motif and use cutting through. I thought I would use the shape of the jar and the pickled vegetables in this way. I made 3 lino blocks of the jar and the bowl and experimented with painted backgrounds and printing shapes.

Pages from first mockup, exploring ideas and techniques

Pages from first mockup, exploring ideas and techniques

pages from the second mockup

pages from the second mockup

Putting together

When I came to pull the piece together however, it just didn’t seem to work as I had anticipated, the linoprint didn’t work as a physical piece, not printing well onto the acrylic painted background. The first page required images of the vegetables and ingredients and I felt the images I created using stencilled shapes were too crude. I ended up creating images with marker pens. I liked these images but they then dictated the direction the whole piece went in, I no longer felt able to use the cutting through idea.

The final piece was created using a mixture of drawn images, the linoprints and a bit of digital work to pull it together.

kimchee story

kimchee story

pages2,3

pages2,3

page4,5

pages6,7

pages6,7

pages8,9

pages8,9

pages 10,11

pages 10,11

pages 12,13

pages 12,13

lastpage

Leave a Reply

