Home

My tutor commented that in the exercise on 2 colours,

3colours2

print

I could have taken the print idea further. I needed to make xmas cards so I thought I would use the idea as a linocut, to make a simple card.

I altered the content to make it christmassy, by adding a fireplace, a tree and presents. I would have added more things but I needed to keep it very simple (my lino cutting is very rudimentary). I kept the design very rough in keeping with my natural style. I made a mock up in paper and I realised that it wouldn’t stand up, so I had to alter the design to flatten the base. I clipped the white corners off so each card so that the final cards were rough hexagons. I like to think of my cards on people’s mantel pieces, always looking a bit different from all the other cards. I used a reduction technique to print the two colours.I was quite pleased with it in the end, with hindsight I would have used a coloured card background.

linocut-4

paper mockup

linocut

working out the reduction

linocut-2

lino plate

linocut-3

first colour

linocut-5

One thought on “Further response to Tutor’s feedback

  1. You say that you like to think of the card on the recipient’s mantel shelf, being a little different from the usual, and I think it achieves that. I think that you should also value it as an artwork by giving it a title and writing “Reduction Linocut: Sarah Pease 2016” on the back.

Leave a Reply

