Home

I started by imagining various little scenarios inspired by 3 graphic novels the I liked (A Taste of Chlorine by Bastien Vivés, Aya of Yop City by Marguerite Abouet and Clement Oubrerie and 100 Demons by Lynda Barry). I quickly realised that the first two were over ambitious but that Lynda Barry used a very simple format which I could have a go at.

boymeetsgirl 2

Thinking of a narrative

I’m not a big fan of copying other people’s style but I thought I would use the format as a starting point.

boymeetsgirl

Imagining the story in styles of Vivés, Oubrerie, Barry

boymeetsgirl 3boymeetsgirl 1gmb 1boymeetsgirl

I spent a VERY long time on this exercise. I didn’t resent this as it threw up a lot of issues that I felt would be good to tackle, but at times I did get very bogged down and it actually raised more questions than answers.

I decided on my basic story and then spent a long time trying to distill it to it’s essence, working out what the important points should be. One of the problems was that it was based on true events and real life is messy, complicated and difficult to fit neatly into a comic strip. There were elements of the story which I thought were important but then turned out could be cut without losing the essence. I spent a very long time on the wording, which I rewrote over and over again.

Eventually I whittled it down to 4 frames but I knew I wasn’t happy with it. I showed it to a couple of people and explained the story and what I was wanting to say. After some discussion it was clear that I was trying to say too much in the Exercise and that I could use an expanded version of the story for Assignment 3. My friend helped me see that the focus of this Exercise should be about the boy, the Assignment could be about the girl and her father’s attitude.boymeetsgirlimage1girlmeetsboyimage2girlmeetsboyimage

pennyversion 3

Initial version that showed for feedback

Leave a Reply

